A runcationference

Leave a comment

April 7, 2014 by Amy B

You know you’re a runner when you’re packing for a conference and realize you’ve packed more running gear than regular clothes and still wonder if you can fit in another pair of running shoes. Just in case.

Last week I flew out to Seattle for An Event Apart, a web design conference for those of you who are wondering. You can read a slightly navel-gazing recap here. And while I could go on for days (or at least hours) about this experience, this is a running blog, not a web design blog (clearly). So I’ll spare you. But I did run while I was away. Because when it’s in the mid to upper 40s and there isn’t a fucking hint of white shit on the ground, how can you NOT run?

Oops, not the greatest photo. I don’t even think I took a single selfie. I was too in love with it being not winter.

Of the four and a half days I was in town, I ran three. Not bad, right? No specific workout in mind, no goals, no set pace. One morning I ran down toward the aquarium, almost killed myself on a frosty dock, and ran back the other way toward a really wonderful park (Centennial Park), where I ran the following two days.

Unfortunately, I fell ill for the last two days and was pretty much wiped out for the tail end of the conference (a workshop that I struggled to endure, not because of the content or presenter, but because I was barely holding it together physically). Add flying back in a snowstorm, getting rerouted and having to arrange alternate transportation back home and well, just recovering and accepting that I am back in a place with ten-foot high snowbanks…

You’d be a little worn out, too.

I press on. Today I went on a spontaneous 30 minute run sans Garmin at lunch. It pays to keep multiple pair of running shoes and the emergency Rogas in your office.

I still feel like I’m recovering but at least the snow is melting.

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

All I ask is that the sweater comes back in one piece from school picture day. With the buttons still attached. #arlocardigan #brooklyntweed

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

