36 is downright balmy

1

October 23, 2013 by Amy B

Wintertime is (almost) here.

Screen Shot 2013-10-23 at 9.10.29 AM

Whenever I want to complain about the chilly temperatures, I remind myself that in a few months I’ll be wishing it was this lovely out.

Our front yard can't take any more snow.

Yup, that’s our front yard in January of 2013.

Truth is, I don’t mind running in the colder weather as long as my face is warm/covered. But I’m struggling to find a balaclava that is 1) warm and 2) has fabric that doesn’t get sucked into my mouth every time I inhale. If I can’t find a better one, I’ll be cutting a hole in the current one I have (Asics something or other), but I really don’t want to chop up an almost perfect balaclava.

Yesterday’s run was fairly ho-hum. First mile was slower because I stopped to do a clothing adjustment (tights were falling down, hello!) and then I hummed along at a fairly decent pace for the rest of the run, considering this was my “hilly” route, and the last mile is usually around 10:30. I threw in an extra .75 mi at the end to bring it to an even 5.0.
Screen Shot 2013-10-23 at 9.04.08 AM
Screen Shot 2013-10-23 at 9.10.22 AMI almost forgot I set a running goal after the marathon.

Screen Shot 2013-10-23 at 9.34.59 AMI’m too tired to do the math right now to see if I’m on track, but it seems like a reasonable goal to reach by the end of the year. Ideally, I’d like to run at least 25 miles a week all winter and spring.

Any goals for the off season? Or do you live in one of those disgustingly moderate climates where you can run in shorts all year round?

One thought on “36 is downright balmy

  1. Josh says:

    My off-season goal: running regularly with Team /var/run. On the subject of cold faces, I have an Under Armour ColdGear hood. But it does get sucked into my mouth, so I usually don’t breathe through it. So I guess that’s not very useful information.

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

Bonus ice time and hockey beers on a school night! #happyholidays

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

