Accidental Progressive Tuesday

Leave a comment

August 20, 2013 by Amy B

These early morning runs are starting to wear me down a little.

We’ve finally hit “normal” August temperatures, so the morning runs, even at 6AM, aren’t that cool and crisp anymore.

I went out for my schedule five miles. First mile: hellish. The rest? I guess I eased into a slightly faster pace, but it was rough. The legs just don’t want to turn over very quickly these days.

Screen Shot 2013-08-20 at 11.47.27 AM

A better pace than yesterday, but I still feel pretty meh.

In the Tale of the Bum Wrap That Won’t Stay Up, I tried fastening a few safety pins on the inner short to give it a more snug fit. I’m not sure if it helped or not, but I didn’t flash anyone on my run this morning. (I also applied some body glide in places I don’t normally apply it (i.e., my ass), just hoping for a little adhesion.)

20130820-161219.jpg

Had to send in my Flyte tank (Oiselle) for replacement and am happy to have it back! Also, super awesome Picky Club Water Bottle!

I was summoned to an early (for me) meeting, which meant I didn’t have time to make breakfast at home. Picky Bar to the rescue!

 

20130820-161229.jpg

This is by far my fav flavor, though I have not tried the new Runner’s High yet (next month!).

I’ve got another five miles tomorrow. I’m curious if my legs will feel any better. I am probably bailing on CrossFit this week (unless I’m terribly inspired to workout in mega heat); I’m trying to take it easy.

The week seems to be crawling by. On one hand, bring on the weekend! On the other, that means it will be time for another long run. I’ve got a half mara on the schedule for Saturday, so it’s not going to be a terribly long outing, but I’m officially at the point of training when I dread the long run. Actually, “dread” is putting it mildly. How can I bring back the love of the long run? I think I had it in the beginning. How can I get the magic back?

I need to figure it out; I’ve got four more weeks of long-ish runs before the taper.

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

Toyota Prius capacity: two adults, three car seats, and a 12” cement form.

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

