Two days, twenty five miles

1

August 12, 2013 by Amy B

Dude, I just ran 25 miles in about 24 hours. Let’s recap.

Friday

8 miles. Tired as hell, and I usually feel pretty good after a day off. Whatev. Just trying to get it in before work and succeeded.

Carb loaded with my friend G. However, note to future self: no hot salsa the day before a long run. Enough said.

20130810-174147.jpg

20130810-174200.jpg

Saturday

Long run madness. Seventeen miles; I thought I only had sixteen, which was really a bummer when I found out the real mileage. I’d planned for an out and back on the snowmobile trail but after getting some kind of shit news midway re: a family member’s health, and almost getting run over by a caravan of dune buggies (fucking ATV thingies, urgh), I felt like the only way I’d not wimp out on the entire distance was to keep working toward a destination where I could pick up potato chips at the end.

I had to make some adjustments to make this work out to 17 miles; after running for almost 3 hours, there was no way in hell I was going to cheat myself on the distance. I ran along the waterfront, did a few loops around the Houghton Guy statue near Jimmy John’s, etc. It all worked out.

20130810-174108.jpg

We headed to MegaMart to pick up some things for church for the morning (we’re on cookie/coffee duty) and I was dreading walking around on legs that had just been moving for almost three hours. Weirdness: they felt better than they did when I ran 15 a few weeks ago. Maybe my legs are starting to get used to the torture?

20130810-174047.jpg

Ran down the snowmobile trail. Slowly loses elevation all the way to Houghton. Soft surface, shaded. Aside from almost getting run over by a dune buggy caravan, it was not bad.

I’ve got a shitload of things to do but know I won’t get to them. I just want to kick my feet up and take a nap. I might do just that.

20130810-174120.jpg

One thought on “Two days, twenty five miles

  1. I was exhausted after 8 Sunday, I couldn’t imagine 17! You’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

@svizanko, she's ready to be put to work at @rhythm_houghton.

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

