The shit

Leave a comment

August 12, 2013 by Amy B

Note to future self: Stop eating shit on Sunday and justifying it by the fact that you ran for many hours in a row the day before.

I’m not sure if that was the reason I was up all night with nausea and weird as fuck dreams, one involving a snake (probably because I just read that story about the two kids in Canada who were killed by the boa that fell through the ceiling tiles in their apartment).

Sunday was a mostly relaxing day.

Church in the morning (we were on coffee/cookie duty so we baked in the morning and had an enjoyable time socializing).

Afternoon we went out to a friend’s place (on the canal) and sat around, ate, drank, and celebrated a birthday.

20130812-125422.jpg

20130812-125435.jpg

Even though I was feeling great for most of Saturday following my long run, I was really feeling wrecked yesterday. I even had to sneak away from the party to lie down, just for a few minutes. If I’d have been able to nap the entire afternoon, I would have done so in a heartbeat.

20130812-125447.jpg

Oiselle + Beer + J.Crew = winning

20130812-125458.jpg

Out on the dock, eating a pork taco and having a moment of peace

When we got home that night I was waxed. Scott left to go pick up a piece of furniture from our friends who are moving today and I got the kids in bed. From about 11pm onward, I thought I was going to hurl. For the record, I’m not a puker. Never really have been, but I felt like my stomach was going to propel itself out of my body at a moment’s notice. It made for a really restful night of sleep.

Things I think about while lying in bed while sick:

Did I get bit by a tick? Do tick bites make you feel sick to your stomach? OMG, do I have a tick on me?

Maybe it was the venison sausage I ate this morning at church?

Maybe I’m going to die? Is my life insurance policy up to date?

I lived through the night (obvs) and my alarm went off at 5:00. I laid in bed for awhile, trying to decide if I felt well enough to run. My stomach was feeling a little better but I could tell I wasn’t 100%. I considered running later but knew it wouldn’t happen. I decided to get up and give it a shot; maybe it would make me feel better.

As I started out down the street, my legs felt like they were filled with lead. The bouncing up and down was making my stomach feel worse. I stopped after a minute and just stood in the street, contemplating if I should bag it and go home. I decided to give it a few more minutes and see how I felt.

I didn’t feel better, but I didn’t feel worse. I trod on. And when I say trod, I mean at an 11:00 min/mile pace.

This was slower than my pace on the day I ran 17 goddamn miles. What the?

I almost cut it short by a mile and a half but at this point, I knew I’d probably feel worse about myself if I gave up than if I just stuck it out and suffered through it. So I did suffer. And ended up with one of the slowest runs I’ve had in a long time.

20130812-125525.jpg

I don’t know if it was the right thing to gut it out or not. I’m glad I didn’t quit, but it didn’t help my stomach cause at all. I even had to cancel my chiro appointment this morning because I couldn’t get out of the house (fill in your own blanks).

I’m just going to chalk it up to one of those runs I typically have at least once a season. The one where you think, oh my god, nothing feels right, like my body forgot how to run. I also have swollen glands on the left side of my throat so am I getting sick? God, let’s hope not.

I fired up the juicer and made this lovely green juice – kale, celery, cuc, lemon, ginger, apple. It’s either going to make me feel better or make everything ten times worse.

20130812-125536.jpg

Let’s hope for the former and not the latter.

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

I’ve been eyeing that orange field bag for ages; #mydreamfringemix is MIX 6 from @fringesupplyco ・・・
MIX 6: GLAMPER / Orange #fringefieldbag + waxed camo Field Bag + natural #fringeporterbin
(orange available only at @purlsoho)
#fringesupplyco

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

