Eye on the prize

2

August 3, 2013 by Amy B

 

 

First: I actually remembered yesterday to map out a run for today. I’m not sure why it’s showing 13.0 because it most definitely is 13.1, which was the prescribed distance by Coach Hal for today.

20130803-160830.jpg

Scott says I get really worked up over these long runs. I disagree. I wouldn’t say I get “worked up,” but I do put some thought into them and try to plan out things to make them go as well as they possibly can. So yeah, I do think about routes, what I’m going to wear, eat, drink, and at what time I’m going to go. Is that obsessive or weird?

20130803-160630.jpg

I wanted to take the sweat band just because I always need something to wipe the sweat out of my eyes, plus Picky Power!

Speaking of sweat, who has a good solution for keeping your sunglasses from fogging up on a hot day? I wear a pair of Oakleys – I think they’re called Half Jackets (older version) – and they fog like mad. I finally perched them on top of my hat because I couldn’t stand it anymore.

I was a little concerned about the run this morning since I was still so sore from CrossFit. The first few miles were a little creaky, and I just tried to find a pace that was no slower than 10:30 min/mile, knowing that I had some serious hills to climb after the halfway point. When I saw that my first mile was 10:15, I was happy. I knew I could maintain that pace for awhile.

This route travels on some back roads and eventually heads back on the highway along Lake Superior. This was such a beautiful view that I had to stop for a gel and a photo, which doesn’t really do the view justice, but I thought I’d share anyway. It really is beautiful here.

20130803-160654.jpg

The “monster” climb lasts about 1.5 miles starting at mile 7. A few years ago, Scott took us on a run that included this hill and I may have cursed at him the entire way. This time? While it’s no picnic, it’s not too bad. I survived!

The last 4 miles were hot – the sun was out in full force and I was pretty glad I’d chosen the tank top, even though I’d been chilly for the first mile. I finished nowhere near my PR a few weeks ago, but this was a completely different course with different and more difficult elevation variation.

20130803-160642.jpg

I need to remind myself that the PR during a training run doesn’t matter much if it doesn’t help me on race day. Honestly, I should probably be taking these long runs a little slower. I don’t think I’ll have that problem in the upcoming weeks when the mileage ramps up; I already feel tired now. I just need to not sweat it. Slower times doesn’t mean I’m losing fitness or any less of a runner. And this fall’s marathon isn’t my first rodeo. I’ve been here before. I know how I feel after the taper. I know I’ll be ready this time.

I have a ton of freelance work to get at this weekend, plus a ton of other household chores that I haven’t even started. But for now, I’m kicking up my compression-laden legs and enjoying the satisfaction that comes from completing the long run.

20130803-160719.jpg

And Aaron, in usual fashion, has already stolen my Picky Bar and is drinking all my Nuun. Good thing he’s adorable.

20130803-160705.jpg

I need a Picky Bars club membership for my toddler. If that’s not an endorsement, I don’t know what is.

2 thoughts on “Eye on the prize

  1. Love those Pro Compression..think I spotted some Retro in there!

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

What a fun way to close out the hockey season in the Copper Country. More pictures by Jay.

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

