Coach’s orders and a soap box

1

August 2, 2013 by Amy B

Today was the second rest day on my marathon training schedule this week. Honestly, I’m itching to get out and run and almost did for two miles this morning, just to shake things out. However, Mr. Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness showed up in the middle of the night.

I could barely get out of bed this morning.

I tried to do some yoga stretching. Agony.

I peeled my pathetic mess of a body off the ground and decided to give in to the rest prescription. I’ve got 13.2 on the calendar for tomorrow morning.

I have been thinking about this CrossFit thing, whether or not it’s good or bad for me as someone training for a marathon who primarily runs. Strength training? I’m all about it. But since I’m only going to be able to do this once a week, is it beneficial? Is something better than nothing?

I’m not an elite runner depending on my Twin Cities performance for my livelihood, but I do want to run the best race I can. And while in years past I’ve declared my goal is to simply finish, I want more this time. I know I’m capable of much more, and it’s been a long time since I’ve been able to successfully dig deeply for the entire race.

The answer is probably to get more strength training in on my own outside of the class. Yeah, I know. Maybe I’m just feeling the crunch of the training and my current workload plus a few freelance projects that are bearing down right now and squeezing me a little tightly.

Soap box, please.

In other news, Oiselle has chosen their new teams for the season. From their web site:

Oiselle is all about helping women run free and fast! Currently we have 150 women from across the country who represent our brand as they train and race toward their running goals. Above all, we seek teammates who – like us – see running not just as a sport, but as a life philosophy. And who are excited about bringing this energy to their own community. A sisterhood of strength. Every July, we review our team, and all team members reapply, so there is opportunity for change and new members.

I found Oiselle a little too late in the current process to apply (I did anyway, but I missed the official deadline. But sending in the application was kind of a big step in confidence for me and made me feel better, anyway.) As you can probably see from my social media feeds, I love this brand. I believe in their vision and love the community I’ve found through them. To be considered a team member one day would be a huge honor, so yes, I’ll apply when the next cycle comes up.

I’ve seen a lot of positive and (really) negative reactions to the selection results. And while I don’t know much about it, only that over 500 women applied for about 115 slots, yes, there’s bound to be some serious disappointment. The bottom line? Oiselle is still a business, and there’s no way it can sustain an unlimited number of members. I would imagine the process is extremely difficult; committing to that many women – including the elite runners – is gutsy AND costly.

The negative reactions don’t surprise me, but they do make me a bit sad, especially since I’ve seen this all over the Internet, particularly in the women’s blogging community. And I’ll admit, I’ve felt envy at times when I read about the opportunities or perks that some women/runners/bloggers have, wishing the same for myself. There have been times I’ve felt that the online community – women blogging in particular – feels like high school, full of elite cliques that leave the majority of other women feeling like they don’t belong or have a chance. I don’t think it’s a bad thing to recognize that. We’re all human, after all.

What makes me sad is that so many times there is this spirit of “have not,” for lack of a better phrase at the moment, which breeds a spirit of discontent that just isn’t healthy to have in this community or any, for that matter.

I’m not preaching that we can never feel disappointment or envy. And I’d be lying if I told you I would not be absofuckinglutely over the moon ecstatic to be a part of Oiselle’s team. But I’m not, at least now. Hell, I may never be. But it won’t stop me from loving the brand, supporting the women and more importantly, running. And that’s what it’s all about, right? We are women who love to run, and we’d do so if we were wearing high-end shorts or throwaways from the thrift store. As long as my legs can carry me, I’ll keep running, because I run for more than a brand – I run for myself, which means I also run for people I love in my life.

And lately, when I find myself getting hung up on a little detail like a finishing time or bad run or wishing I was part of a group I’m not, I take a step back and remember to keep it in perspective. None of these things make me any less of a runner or a wife, mother, or friend.

Keep your chins up, fellow sisters (and brothers!), and keep flying.

One thought on “Coach’s orders and a soap box

  1. Jocelyn says:

    Great post! What you said about running a business is a key part of the application process that I think a lot of people don’t understand. And at the end of the day, just like on professional sports teams, not everyone can be picked (although I wish I could play professional tennis 😉 )

    And good for you for supporting the brand – as anybody should! Because it is a great brand with a great message with great people.

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

Bonus ice time and hockey beers on a school night! #happyholidays

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

