Seven Mile Pickybird Sweat Test

Leave a comment

July 26, 2013 by Amy B

I never thought I’d be an early morning runner.

But the satisfaction I get from getting out early and finishing my run before most of the half-caffeinated crazies are out on the roadways not looking for runners on the shoulder? It’s a beautiful thing.

It was foggy this morning and there was the threat of a thunderstorm in the distance so I decided to stick to the neighborhoods and off the highway. Even though village/township blocks aren’t exactly scenic, they are a lot quieter than the US route. My loop also takes me back on a gravel road that is fairly woodsy, which is a nice change of scenery from old mining houses.

When I woke up this morning I was pretty sore, mostly in the upper thigh and butt region. Could 15 minutes of beginner’s yoga really make me this sore? Could it be the few minutes on the foam roller? Either way, I wasn’t feeling terribly speedy and after running about ten different scenarios in my head of how my workout could go (OK, it was more like two: slow or fast), I decided I’d set my Garmin virtual pacer dude for 10:00 min/miles and figure this was a marathon pace run.

Is 10:00 min/mile my marathon pace? Honestly, I’m not sure. I’d be perfectly happy to keep that pace up for the entire marathon, but I’m not entirely confident I can pull off a 4:20 in October.

The first mile was slow, a 10:15. My legs felt pretty tight and didn’t loosen up until after that point. From that point I focused on the following:

Wow, it’s really foggy out here, like serial killer could jump out of the fog and abduct me and no one would know.

That heron that just flew out of the reeds just scared the shit out of me.

Why am I sweating so much? It’s not even that warm out. I can see it dripping off my head.

Why didn’t I bring a wristband? Where the hell are my wristbands, anyway?

I can’t run without a hat anymore. Thank god I’ve got a new one coming in the mail today.

Screen Shot 2013-07-26 at 4.35.23 PM

I did try to run the last 3 miles at a slightly faster pace, hoping this inability to evenly pace myself might help me with an extra push at the end of the marathon.

Screen Shot 2013-07-26 at 4.35.34 PM

Verdict? Not the greatest run, but if marathon pace is really what I’m supposed to be running the day before my long run (I’m looking at you, Mr. Hal Higdon), then this is probably where I should be at.

I also took the Pickybird tee out for a sweat test, I mean, run.

20130726-165008.jpg

OK, so I don’t really match. At all. But I really think that even the really BAD Oiselle combos end up not looking too bad together. The magic of this clothing line. Also, don’t pay attention to all the shit on the floor of my bathroom.

I was pleasantly surprised. It’s not that the shirt wasn’t sweaty when I was done. Trust me. It was soaked. But you know how when you wear a cotton tee and get sweaty and feel like you’re wearing this awful heavy wet blanket? This tee totally didn’t feel that way.

I don’t know if I’d wear a shirt like this for a really long run (like my 15 tomorrow), but for an hour or so? Totally doable. I will be very happy to run in these shirts instead of my sloppy starting to smell Brooks tech tees I’ve had for eons.

20130726-164835.jpg

Since I was staying home from work today with the kids (heaven help us all), I had time to try the grid roller again. I worked through the set of exercises that came with it, focusing on my legs and lower back. Holy shit, does my ass hurt, especially the left side.

20130726-165018.jpg

Ooh, sexy calve on grid shot. Ha.

Picked some black raspberries off the bushes at the side of our house. Sophie inhaled/enjoyed them. 20130726-165036.jpg

I survived a harried morning that included a few student interviews that I had to record via teleconference while my children went apeshit in the background.

20130726-165823.jpg

 

Picky Bars: not only good for athletic performance but also for remembering how the everliving hell you delete mp3 files off this crappy little recording device that I’ve lost the manual for. It’s no Runner’s High, but it did the trick.

Picky Bar gods, if you’re listening, please start selling your new flavor to the rest of us! I check in with your web site more often than I do with my own mother. Please don’t tell her that.

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

Toyota Prius capacity: two adults, three car seats, and a 12” cement form.

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

