PR Tuesday!

Leave a comment

July 9, 2013 by Amy B

I missed my run yesterday morning. We left Detroit at 2pm. We pulled into our driveway at 3:45am. I was up at 6:30am to be to work by 8:00am for a “special” situation. Yeah, you do the math.

Oddly, I started to get my second wind sometime yesterday afternoon and considered going out for my 3 miler that night, then thought better of it. We had furniture and appliances to move inside. There was also pizza. Thank God for young, strong men who are willing to come to your house to move shit in exchange for pizza and beer.

It’s been awhile since I’ve taken two days off from running in a row, so I was ready to get out this morning.

Screen Shot 2013-07-09 at 9.54.16 AM

Screen Shot 2013-07-09 at 9.52.48 AM Screen Shot 2013-07-09 at 9.52.56 AM

I’m loving the last 1.1 miles of this run. I’ll admit I didn’t look at the watch for the first two miles and then just felt great, so I went with it. I’ve set a new goal: run a 5K at an average sub-9 pace. Even if it’s 8:59, I’ll take it. Months ago, I’d never have guessed this was possible; I thought I’d never break 10:00 min miles. Now that I know it is, I’m super pumped to push it and see what I can do.

So here’s something a little silly: lately when I’ve been running, I’ve been picturing fast runners in my mind. I watched The Spirit of the Marathon on Netflix a few weeks ago and was inspired. Truth is, I don’t watch much running like someone might sit and watch baseball or football. And when I’m running a race (a marathon, for example), I’m not watching the elite racers.

Watching Deanna Castor was amazing; in fact, she wins the women’s race, one I was running – my second Chicago marathon back in ’05. Watching someone move that fast makes running faster seem more real, more attainable. Of course, I’m not going to be posting any times like Deanna (I doubt I could even keep pace with her for a hundred yards), but now I spend a little time each run making an effort to push the pace. I’m probably not running faster than an 8:00 min/mile, but that’s fast for me. It’s making running more interesting.

In other news, we purchased a juice extractor this weekend on our trip to Detroit. Hello, 20% off coupon from Bed Bath and Beyond!

20130709-152427.jpg

It’s an Omega J8006, a horizontal masticating juice extractor. We put a lot of thought into this – or I should say, my husband obsessively read reviews online while I accused him of sitting around doing nothing – and settled on the horizontal model vs. the vertical (which was $80 more).

I’ve tried a few green recipes (the Joe Cross one from his reboot web site)

20130709-152653.jpg

kale, celery, cucumber, apple, lemon, ginger (and I added half a pear)

and another I found while random googling.

20130709-152630.jpg

This one wasn’t as tasty but still not bad: celery, cucumber, pear, carrot, ginger, kale.

This is probably the total trendy thing to do right now (or was in 2009?) but I’ve got to tell you, as someone who loves juice and doesn’t eat enough veg, I’m in love with this machine. It can do nut butter, which I’m totally trying, with the aim of incorporating it into one of my homemade energy bar recipes I’m tweaking.

Verdict: I love juicing. One day I’ll post about this miracle machine when I’ve sent a few more ingredients through it. Next? Beets. Come to mama.

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

Killing time while The Eldest birthday parties

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

