Lake Effect

Leave a comment

January 13, 2013 by Amy B

Last run was on Friday night.

Screen Shot 2013-01-11 at 10.17.37 AMWe were heading out later that evening to take the kids to a hockey game (Aaron’s first). I was able to squeeze in a quality 30 minutes before we chowed down on rink popcorn and nachos.

I woke up Saturday morning feeling unwell and neglected to put in any miles, other than a walk with the dogs around the block. This morning, same deal.

We’re in the midst of a lake effect snow dumping right now. It makes the roads a complete bitch to run on, and I know I’m better off waiting for the plows to sweep them tomorrow before I head out. In the meantime, I’ve inhaled about a million cookies, scones, and muffins. I don’t know why it is, but I can be really awesome about not eating this kind of stuff and then one day, I just need to completely indulge. It’s not healthy, I know. It doesn’t happen very often, so I’m not going to lose sleep over it.

Since I didn’t get a chance to get out and run, I decided I’ll go back and play hockey tonight. I’ve stayed away after my last injury. I don’t want to go back and feel any trepidation about getting hurt, because that’s usually WHEN YOU GET HURT. I’m just going to concentrate on skating hard and trying to not go overboard. If any of the other guys complain about my perceived level of effort, they can suck it.

In gadgety news, I’m field testing a fitbit one.

fitbit one

Fitbit One (amazon.com)

I originally wanted to get one of these for my mom, who is constantly struggling with weight loss. I hoped something like this could be a motivator to get out and move more. I am a firm believer that you can’t do this with diet alone. You’ve got to get out and move, be active.

I thought I’d give it a whirl first to see how difficult it was to use (or easy) and see if it was something she’d like. So far, it’s kind of fun to see how many steps you’ve taken, though I question its accuracy when you go out for a run). I’m logging all of my food and running in my fitness pal; it all syncs up, which I like. Tonight I’ll see if it does the same during hockey. I believe I can input exercise as normal in MFP and as long as I indicate length of activity (and time), the two programs will talk to each other and work out the details.

I don’t really need something like this to motivate me to get out and run, but having it on does make me think more about getting up during the work day and walking, as I’m likely to sit on my ass in front of a computer all day. Maybe I’ll end up keeping this one and getting her another.

Do you find gadgets help motivate you to exercise? I know that I love my Garmin for running and will admit it does help at times.

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

Killing time while The Eldest birthday parties

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

