Hungry

Leave a comment

January 9, 2013 by Amy B

For whatever reason, I’ve done nothing but eat the entire day while at work.

I thought I’d take a break from the work I’m trying to do (which is part of the reason for the stress eating, sigh) and at least talk about running, in the hopes that I’ll be motivated to get out tonight and do it.

Yesterday I managed to get home while it was still light out and put in something longer than 5K. If I’d had more time, it would have been a longer run.

Screen Shot 2013-01-08 at 8.05.14 PM

I didn’t expect to PR on this course, but I did! I think my best EVER on this route is under 40 minutes, but it’s been years since that’s happened. Therefore, I think it’s fair to call this a PR (or at least a post-having-two-babies PR).

Over the weekend I was able to get out twice for a total of 11 miles.

Saturday:Screen Shot 2013-01-09 at 3.36.53 PMSunday:

Screen Shot 2013-01-07 at 9.52.33 AM

I’m trying a new pair of shoes – Brooks Glycerin (last year’s model).

200811_md

So far, I think they’re decent. I went with a wide size to see if I liked the extra room in the toe box. I sit right at the verge of a wide width for shoes. My toes definitely don’t feel cramped, and even with thin socks (I’m all about the Pro Compression Marathon Socks these days), they don’t feel sloppy.

I am no shoe expert by any means, but I will say I think these feel stiffer. Stiffer doesn’t necessarily mean uncomfortable. I just think they feel less “cushy” than the Nimbus I’m used to.

I wore these for the first time on my eight miler, which probably wasn’t the greatest idea, but no blisters or foot pain! I’ll give them a chance this winter. I’m not necessarily tied to a particular brand or shoe, though I hate Nike and generally think they, along with Adidas and other “sport” brands tend to make shitty running shoes.

Before long it will be marathon registration time, as the folks at Twin Cities in Motion are constantly reminding me in my inbox. We’re signing up again (yes, again), because I can’t have the last marathon I completed be so slow. My goal, though it be slightly lofty, is to run a 4:30. Since I’ve never kept up with my running training through the winter, this has been tough. But I’m running more these days, things feel good, and I think I can do it this year.

I’m also considering the Detroit Free Press Half (I know this has another name now), being that it’s in my hometown, and I’d have available babysitters for the kids (hah). My goal for a half? Two hours. That would require even more work than my full goal, I think.

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

We haven't moved for ten minutes. At least I have coffee. On mornings like these I wish I'd ridden my bike.

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

