POTM: The recap

Leave a comment

December 1, 2012 by Amy B

My last two runs of November weren’t particularly noteworthy, but they’re in the books, and that counts for something.

Wednesday

I should have put this run in on Monday but got totally lazy. I am not sure which zaps more motivation from me – the darkness or the cold.
Screen Shot 2012-11-30 at 4.57.38 PM
Thursday I could have run. I should have run. I made dinner early instead and we made a feeble attempt at cleaning the house.

Friday

Screen Shot 2012-11-30 at 9.06.13 PM
I routed a new 3 mile loop through town that I think I’ll run quite a bit this winter. The only drawback is that the last mile is along a somewhat busier road without a sidewalk. Last night I was actually wishing for freezing temperatures, as I ended up having to run through a bunch of slush for most of the run, which definitely slowed me down. I wasn’t really running for time, more for stress relief. It worked. I didn’t kill anyone.

My total mileage for November for Pile on the Miles was a meager 42.34 miles. My original goal? One hundred. Now even I will admit that was pretty ambitious. I eventually lowered it (50? 75? Can’t remember) and didn’t quite make it. But when I consider I was pretty ill for a week and a half and had the rib injury which made it impossible to breathe, I’m happy that I was able to get out. Now that the snow is really here to stay, it will be a challenge to run as much as I want. I’m going to set my goal for December to beat my November mileage and allow myself to add snowshoe and cross-country skiing miles to the effort.

My weight went up a pound over the holiday but normalized after a week at home. I really do want to avoid any weight gain this holiday season. If I’m gaining weight, then I’m pigging out, simply put. It’s not worth it.

I’d love to hear others’ goals this month if you’re so inclined to share them.

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

The Eldest has accepted the Rodeo Burrito Challenge. If she succeeds, the Bryant is next, @bryantweathers.

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

