Holiday trotting

Leave a comment

November 24, 2012 by Amy B

Even though it’s just suburbia, I love running at Scott’s dad’s. Maybe it’s simply the change in scenery.

I refuse to pay $$$ for a Turkey Trot in the Twin Cities, so I did my own. It wasn’t a 10K, but it was enough. We ate on Friday, which left Thursday morning wide open for a run. It was also in the 60°F range quite early, which meant a run was mandatory.

I felt pretty sluggish overall, so a 10:11 pace is cool with me. My back also hurt from sleeping on the awful air mattress in the spare bedroom.

Friday morning was too packed full of cooking detail to fit in a run. Also, Thursday night brought a ton of snow. It felt like a good excuse to give myself a day off.

Yesterday was the typical eating and drinking too much. My downfall was two beers, which I haven’t done in ages and always leaves me feeling bleh. But we pulled off a dinner for 25 people and had a TON of food left over. It was a good day.

This morning was chilly but not windy, so off for a 5K(ish).

Didn’t particularly push it this morning, but made the mistake of overdressing (when I saw the thermometer at less than 20°F) and for some stupid reason wore running socks OVER my compression socks. Was I afraid my feet would get cold? It must be from all the turkey I’ve been eating.

Probably won’t run tomorrow since we’ll be trying to get on the road early. A blizzard awaits us at home, and from here on out, it’s probably yaktrax on snow covered side streets. We won’t see sidewalks until April. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

Toyota Prius capacity: two adults, three car seats, and a 12” cement form.

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

