Nice day for a 10K

Leave a comment

November 17, 2012 by Amy B

Last two run recap…go!

Thursday I got in a run after work, even though I really wanted to be running during the afternoon; it was gorgeous outside.

Felt pretty good but didn’t particularly push the pace. Sun has melted most of the snow on the road so extra shoe-slippage prevention was not necessary.

This morning I committed myself to a 10K.

I have slight issue with the mileage calculation on my Garmin and had to resnap to roads when I got back. 6.2 (Garmin) ended up being 6.32 according to Map My Run. Who to believe? I am going to believe MMR today. 🙂

The first few miles seemed slow and I was surprised to see my pace was around 10:00 min/miles. Everything after the fifth mile felt awful, though. I suddenly was zapped of all energy and it took everything I had to just plod through and finish the sixth without quitting after five.

This is the furthest I’ve run since the marathon, and it certainly felt like it.

My goal this winter is to put in at least one “long” run on the weekends of six miles or more.

With the big Thanksgiving week coming up (FOOD), my plan is to get out a few times this week while we’re at home and then put in a 5-6 miler on Thanksgiving morning. Since we’re not eating until Friday (working around other family dinners), it shouldn’t be a problem to get out and do my favorite loop around Scott’s dad’s house (barring weather).

When I lived in Detroit I sometimes took part in the Turkey Trot downtown. I miss Thanksgiving Day races. They’re fun. They’re festive. And the TT in Detroit was reasonably priced. I have yet to find a race in the Twin Cities near the holiday that isn’t ridiculously priced (over $30 for a freaking 5 or 10K? Really?), and running near the house is free. I guess I’ve got enough race tees anyway.

What are you doing for Thanksgiving? Running? Local race?

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

Toyota Prius capacity: two adults, three car seats, and a 12” cement form.

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

