Last dance

Leave a comment

October 5, 2012 by Amy B

We’ve had blissfully warm and mild weather this autumn. Last night it started to get windy. Rain and snow was in the forecast for Friday morning, so I decided to get out for my 2 miler before all the nastiness hit.

I don’t recognize this runner I’ve seemingly become. I’ve never run this fast in my life. For some reason I just feel really great. It also didn’t hurt that it was pretty windy and cold and I just wanted to be back inside.

Obviously, I won’t be keeping up any pace this fast for any amount of the race on Sunday. Scott and I have discussed pace and realistically think we can keep up a 12 minute pace, 13 minute if we throw in walking in the end (which we probably will have to do).

I’ll be setting the virtual runner on the garmin to keep a 13:00 min/mile pace; I don’t want to drop below that. If I really want to put it at the absolute slowest we can allow ourselves to go, I can set him for a 6 hr marathon pace (13:44 min/mile, I believe). But I think we can do better than that. 13:00 min/miles is safe. I won’t start to worry until I see our pace dipping close to that, especially if it’s early on in the race.

“Just finishing” isn’t a very lofty goal, but since I haven’t put in a run over 13.1 and it’s been months since Scott put in a long run (yes, MONTHS), we honestly just want to survive. I’ll be perfectly happy with survival, having just pushed a human being out of my body less than six months ago. I feel very pleased with the fitness goals I’ve set for myself, and I feel even more confident that I can meet my goal weight by the end of the year (ten more pounds, basically).

As for rest of the year goals, I’ll talk about them post-race. Right now I think I’ll just focus on the 26.2 on Sunday and enjoy my weekend. Thanks for sending good race vibes my way!

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

Killing time while The Eldest birthday parties

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

