Mid-course correction

Leave a comment

September 19, 2012 by Amy B

I woke up at 4:30am to the dog hopping off the bed. After a few seconds, I realized that she had done so with the intention of taking another shit in the closet.

Another shit? Yes. For some reason the dog has been shitting in the middle of the night, almost every night. And every time it happens, I’m the only one to notice. And clean it up.

My alarm is set for 5:30 during the week for early morning running, so after attending to a stirring baby, I decided to just bag the extra few minutes and get up at 5:00. No wonder I’m so tired by Friday.

After performing the usual routine I checked the weather to see a 36°F temperature reading. I putzed around for a few more minutes, hoping it would warm up outside.

Turns out 36 isn’t a terrible running temperature. In fact, it felt warmer than yesterday’s 40.

I set out for three miles this morning but ended up adding another loop on to the end of my route to make it four. Glad I did.

Image

I’m not sure how accurate the Garmin’s map ends up being in the end. I’ve had to edit all of them after uploading to my computer. I remapped using Map My Run (my go-to app these days) and came out with 4.12 miles. Garmin had me at 4.03, then 4.08. Not that it matters a lot; it’s about a 10:00 pace, and it’s not like I’m training for the Olympics or anything. (I’ve been watching auctions and reading reviews and trying to determine if I want to invest in a 405cx or a 410. I’ve had no problems buying refurbished cameras, so I’m leaning toward a refurbed 410. Still undecided; will borrow this friend’s unit for a little while longer to see if it helps me make a decision.)

Still, I’m happy. I started running regularly back in June, and a three mile effort just about killed me. Now, I feel like I can crank out that distance and more and not be completely waxed. Also, my times are improving. I know this is also related to weight, and that’s why I’ve been trying to take off as much as I can before this marathon. At least for me, lighter = easier. I’m sitting in the 132 range right now. I would have liked to be down to mid-120s by Oct 7 (not going to happen, clearly), but this is much better than my last marathon attempt, when I’m fairly sure I was approaching mid-140s (due to being preggo).

Scott told me this morning that he was going to get up and run. Fail! Guess you’ve gotta beat me out the door if you want to run in the morning. Either that, or get up before me to clean up the dog shit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

Bonus ice time and hockey beers on a school night! #happyholidays

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

