Better

Leave a comment

August 1, 2012 by Amy B

I had a last minute freelance project that prevented me from getting out and running last night after work. To be honest, I wasn’t thrilled about the idea anyway. I was still a little bummed about the last crappy run/walk and didn’t want to feel that way again. So I wimped out. I’ll admit it.

I justified it as a break for my legs. I’ve done a lot more running lately. Maybe I was just tired?

I woke up early to finish edits on a piece and somehow convinced myself to get out for at least three miles. I ended up going for four. I was feeling pretty good, even though I knew it was a slower pace.

ImageI’m totally okay with this time, even though it’s a slower pace than my three mile runs. My legs still feel a little sore from a short bike ride I took on Sunday with Sophie in the Burley trailer.

I didn’t stop and walk, so I’m happy with that. I have a big weekend work-wise, so my original goal of running 9 miles on Saturday might not happen. We’ll see.

Also, regarding my earlier announcement about weight loss: I’m just about back down to pre-pregnancy weight (about two pounds to go), and while eight pounds might seem extreme in one month, for me it seems about right. I’m not starving myself because I’m breastfeeding my son and don’t want to screw up my milk supply. I credit it mostly to getting out and running at least three times a week and food journal-ling; I’m using this app on my phone called my fitness pal. I must admit that I’ve probably stuck with it because I can scan bar codes on items; it appeals to the geek in me.

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

We haven't moved for ten minutes. At least I have coffee. On mornings like these I wish I'd ridden my bike.

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

