Race! Canal Run – 07.17.10

1

July 17, 2010 by Amy B

It’s Canal Run Day!

Distance: 10 mi
Duration: 1:41:55
Pace: 10:12 min/mi
Splits: unavailable. I got tired and missed a few and then decided to hell with it.

What a great day for a race. It got hot during the last few miles (which is also when my body started complaining), but I had enough energy to finish strong. I do know I started out faster than I had planned (my first mile was a 9:45), so I kept an eye on my heart rate and slowed down a bit. Most of the miles were at 6mph; I know mile 8 was probably my slowest of the day; I stopped to walk during the water stop and had to adjust my timing chip band.

The course is a gently rolling route; I think I like running this more than a consistently flat surface.  I’d love to be able to keep this pace up for 26.2, but I’ve got a long way to go before that happens. Ten miles is a great race distance. A 10K is too short; anyone can do that. A ten miler requires a little more stamina, more guts. It’s definitely a challenge.

I last ran this race in 2005 and clocked a 1:33:27. Even though I was nowhere near matching that time, I feel pretty good about keeping it under 1 hour and 45 minutes.

This replaced my long run for Saturday. I was supposed to do 12 miles. I’ll try not to cry over the two I missed. 🙂

One thought on “Race! Canal Run – 07.17.10

  1. […] A year ago I ran a local 10 mile race. […]

Leave a Reply

Runner, Eater, Mother, Tweeter

Amy, July 2013

I'm a thirty-something suburbanite turned ruralite living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Wife, mom of two, eater of all things delicious, and a runner. This is where I blather on about running and health. Baby Number Three will be here in November (so yes, I'm a little crazy), and I'm running through my pregnancy for as long as my body's willing and able. There's also more of me at amyupnorth.com. Read more here.

Insta!

What a fun way to close out the hockey season in the Copper Country. More pictures by Jay.

I’m an Ambassador!

nuun hydration

Posts by Date

Posts by Category

Friends?

